Week 4: History and Theory of Art

Well, I wish I had something to say for this week but unfortunately, I missed this lecture. As I am not a part-time student I am not allowed access to the audio recording of the lecture (trust me I asked) so here’s everything I learned from your one hundred and twenty-three pages on powerpoint that included three slides of bullet points from which I am meant to fully attain a deep meaningful knowledge of art history.

Modernist and Postmodern art movements:

  • Soviet Constructivism (Rodchenko, El Lissitzky)
  • Surrealism (Man Ray, Brassai, Lee Miller)
  • Abstract Expressionism (Cy Twombly, Aaron Siskind)
  • Pop art
  • Conceptual art (Robert Smithson, Ed Ruscha, Victor Burgin)
  • Postmodernism (Sherrie Levine, Louise Lawler, Barbara Kruger)
  • Body art (Yayoi Kusama)
  • Performance (Carolee Schneemann, Paul McCarthy)
  • Installation (Beat Streuli, Walead Beshty)
  • Feminist art (Hannah Wilke, Valie Export, Jo Spence etc.)
  • Black art/artists – Soul of a Nation (Tate Modern)
  • Queer art (Queer British Art 1861-1967 –  Tate Gallery)

 

Art Theory/Photo Theory:

  • Aesthetics
  • Formal analysis
  • Art movements: Futurism, Dada, Surrealism, Conceptual art, etc.
  • Social and cultural history
  • Psychology and psychoanalysis
  • Gender theory
  • Philosophy
  • Specific thinkers: Amelia Jones, John Berger, Victor Burgin, Michel Foucault, etc. …

 

Exhibition catalogues:

Recent catalogues of major shows will often include the following:

  • Introduction – explanation of the exhibition, its format and concept
  • Catalogue of works
  • Academic essays
  • Biography
  • Bibliography
  • Chronology

Yeah, I’m pretty lost too. But I still have eighty words to write so here’s what I’m going to say: if we as students are meant to be able to learn from powerpoint when we miss a lecture please please please include something we can understand without the context of your vocals. Or allow all students access to the recording of the lecture as you have it anyway. I did email and explain the circumstances as to why I missed the lecture and it was the only session I missed, so please go ahead and mark me down for my arrogance on this post, in the meantime I look forward to no help from my lectures in the future.

 

Leave a comment